From September 2014 we began using the Symphony Assessment System to assess pupils against age related expectations.
For reading, writing and mathematics, children work towards end of year expectations against Grade descriptors that come from Curriculum 2014. 
Children progress through Grades from Emerging (E) to Developing (D) and then on to Secure (S) across the year as follows.
Year 1    1E  1D  1S
Year 2    2E  2D  2S
Year 3    3E  3D  3S
Year 4    4E  4D  4S
The descriptors for each milestone have been defined by experienced teachers and leaders in Leicestershire Schools and they meet the increased expectations of the new Primary National Curriculum.
Click here for an additonal Powerpoint Presentation on our assessment system. 
Further details of the Symphony Assessment System can be found at

Calendar Dates


Work Gallery

Contact Us